Media and Government think Hackers are stupid

Tonight my wife and I were running some errands, and as I usually do, I was listening to talk radio. During the local news break, they ran a headline about the Thrift Savings Accounts for congress being hacked, and the newscaster sounded surprised to report that the motive did not appear to be for identity theft.

I’m sorry, but when the fuck did Identity theft become the ONLY thing hackers do? does nobody know anymore that “Knowledge is power”? When it comes to fighting a war, or trying to leverage a target to your will, having knowledge to use against them is much more important than stealing that enemies identity.

Identity theft is for chumps, and script kiddies who are BEGGING to get caught. I find it supremely insulting that all hackers are criminals, but now they are dumb criminals. Does it not even cross reporters minds that you can use the identity information for things like blackmail, threatening to give the data to your targets enemies.

I just had to vent about this, because it was a very upsetting headline, with about 30 seconds to convey how surprised they were that hackers would want banking information for something other than identity theft

Comments are closed.