Disclosure: Small business and offering “free” WiFi – what NOT to do

In the interest of what I ran into last night, I will share what horrible networking practices this business I stumbled upon was employing. I was driving past a local tire shop, and noticed they had an open Wi-Fi network named “Goodyear”. So I thought to myself “let’s just take a peek at what is accessible to why user”.

There was no authentication agreement once connected, no ‘rules of conduct’ if you will that even most coffee shop networks toss up at users. Lately I have been using my nexus 7 to see just how much mayhem I am able to cause, without looking suspicious with a laptop.

Once I connected to the network, I fired up Dsniff to analyze the network layout. There was a curious hostname, with a Netgear device signature, that I felt warranted a look. So I scanned the services, and noticed a network share was the only service available, signaling this was likely a NAS device. A NAS on a open public WiFi, I could only dream what treasures lay within its storage.

Using ES File Manager’s built in Samba services to connect, for fun I try using the default ‘Guest’ account, and tada, I’m presented with a share and the secret share data. In the root of the ‘My Documents’ folder, I find a fun file named ‘LOGINS.rtf’ and save it to my tablet for later review.

The business is closed, nobody inside, and yet TONS of information, just waiting to be plucked. If the NAS was so easy, I open chrome and browse to the router login page, yet again, default username/password. I have to verify root login so I adjust the filter settings on the router to block all requests for Google.com, Facebook.com, and twitter.com; and low and behold, it was successful.

I am sharing this, so that anyone running a small business will take serious caution to ensure that their sensitive data, is segregated from the public WiFi network. It can be done very simply, even with regular routers from best buy. Please do not think that offering ‘free’ wireless will be positive for your customers. Their data is valuable and if they are compromised because your system was poorly managed, that will reflect poorly on you.

Comments are closed.