Is social media sucking your life force?

Well, I’ve been trying to find time to write something for my blog. The longer the time goes that I don’t get to write, the more empty I feel. Writing is a way for me to let out all that is on my mind (there is no shortage of topics for me to weigh in on) but for my blog, I like to keep it technology related.

Today, I finally get to start on my new series about social media, and its affect on life. Today I’ll start with a broad brush, and discuss ways that social media is sucking your life force, and limiting how people are able to recharge their batteries so to speak.

Even as recently as 5 years ago, people would have a time away from the internet (sounds wierd) but we would focus on things that we enjoyed, and ACTUALLY do them. We would find time to sleep, boredom is actually a signal your body is telling you to rest. Fast forward to today however, and we are endlessly plugged into an overload of information. 

Our phones, be they Android, iPhone, Blackberry, or Windows phone, have a 100% connection to the internet, and thus constant updates bombard us from ALL our social networks (Twitter, Facebook, Google+) our Email, Instant Messages, Text Messages, phone calls, and any number of other updates that those networks and services think are “important” to us.

I noticed a little while back, I was getting severely stressed out over things that were essentially meaningless. Simply taking time to play with my kids, or talk to my wife felt like it was a burden because there was always something else coming that I would need to respond to, someone trying to get a hold of me. I finally had a sort of “digital nervous breakdown” and deleted my Facebook pages. I stopped logging into Google+, and only responded to “urgent” email or voicemails.

I have one simple question for you to consider; Why are you investing so much time, and effort on social media? It comes with the idea that it will make communication with friends and family easier, but does it really? the level of communication has suffered as the ease of “small talk” has increased. 

Nobody seems to have anything important to contribute anymore, because they’d rather sum their thoughts up in 140 characters or less. Kids attention spans are worse than mine, and I’m severely ADHD. Everyone seems to take content on social media way to seriously. You get offended at what someone says online, but then don’t confront them because it wouldn’t be “nice” or “Politically Correct” and that would get everyone else on your case, harrassing you, simply because your opinion differs..

The solution is simple. Unplug, Don’t give a single fuck about what anyone else thinks, Own your life. If you still decide to use social media, do it intelligently. Hold yourself to a higher standard, and don’t allow yourself to get sucked into the “need” to post things. or the worry that someone will be offended if you don’t respond to a “birthday” reminder on facebook. seriously if its my birthday, the LAST fucking thing i want is another “happy birthday” post on my wall… if its not important enough to just call me, or email me.. fuck off.

If you don’t have anything of value to say to me: Fuck off. If you want to hate on me, for not buying into your “facade” … you guessed it… FUCK OFF.

I use twitter, and VERY VERY occasionally Google+ but that is ONLY to speak to people that ADD something to my day.

THINK! Use your Mind, remember to take time to unplug and focus on what really matters before you find yourself alone, and miserable with a handful of “online” friends but nothing in life that actually MEANS anything.

Comments are closed.