Why hackers should oppose government

I suppose I could sum up an entire article with “because they lie”. However I don’t think that would cover the complexity of the issue at hand. Hackers, by both profession and mentality, question authority and push the status quo. By no means, do I mean “Hacker” as the black hat sitting in mommy’s basement in a poorly lit room purposely stealing credit card and identity information; by hacker, I am talking about someone who tinkers and tries to improve the way things are currently done.

The government, any government, is by it’s nature the opposite of the hacker mentality. We try to empower individuals to be self-reliant and build their own life where nobody can tell them how to live. Government tries to consolidate the power into a central entity that distributes resources to fit its goals, even if those under its authority disagree.

Right now, I see too much support for government from others. It’s starting to feel like everyone has forgotten that America was formed by revolutionaries fighting against oppression. Simply because we didn’t want to be told what we could do, and who we could do it with. Yes, laws have a place, but too many laws are bad because it becomes more possible to break the law.

That is what brings me to hackers. Right now, network security is a very dangerous field, and doing things 100% legally makes it hard to find the security holes. If you stumble upon big security problems but didn’t have a contract set up first, you risk possible jail time for disclosing it to the business, even when done discreetly as to not alert everyone and cause panic. Being a security good Samaritan is strongly discouraged because of government.

Think about it this way. Pretend you’re a kid and the government is your parent. when you were a kid, and your parents had a really stupid rule, or the rule was no longer needed, what did you do? You probably talked to your parents to change the rule, and they likely said “no”. For me, I had to break the rule in a way as to show i could act responsibly and the ONLY thing they could punish me for was breaking a rule that was silly. Sometimes, I would get punished. Sometimes, they would finally get the point. But the point is, for change to happen, rules need to be challenged and broken. This is at the very core of who a hacker is: we question EVERYTHING.

I don’t care if you’re a Republican, Democrat, anarchist, or communist, you should still oppose government intervention into our lives, and everyone’s lives. Do you really think that making a new law is going to stop criminals who are ALREADY breaking the law? No, you’re going to create new criminals. At the very least, current laws need to be enforced in full, so EVERYONE feels the pain of these oppressive laws. If you wouldn’t apply a law to EVERYONE, you shouldn’t have the law in the first place.

Hackers should unite against government power, fight against stupid laws intended to single out people, and fight for the little guy, because guess what, hackers? We’re the little guy. We are the antihero. We walk the thin line between good and bad. We need to push authority. We serve a vital role for change.

Stop wasting it!

I was thinking, after I hit “publish”; When I speak of a hacker, I speak of someone who questions things, someone who needs to know “why”, someone who strives for better than “okay”… I speak of myself, my friends, my family, hopefully, I am speaking to YOU as well.

Comments are closed.