Embrace your strengths (even when you’re told they are weakness)

As a hacker, I’m often looking for more efficient ways to do things; better tools for the job, if you will. I don’t approach situations the same as everyone else, and the scary secret is there is no “perfect” solution to most problems.The best way to solve a problem is to use the right tools, right? In the world of computers, that makes a lot of sense because everything is logic; but what about life?

I have always had a problem with impulsivity, rudeness, anger, and completing what I start. I could blame that on my bipolar, and ADHD… But that doesn’t help me FIX anything. Truth be told, neither do medications (at least in my case). What everyone sees as a weakness, ADHD, I absolutely am learning to use it as a strength. For instance I have a very short attention span, but my job allows me to change tasks often enough that my full attention can focus on a problem, then, when my attention has faded, I’m ready to start the next task.

But what about looking at who you are, as exactly who you are supposed to be? For me, that means embracing my chaotic nature and realizing it’s also okay to not always play by the rules. I do things unexpectedly on a regular basis, I look at things different than most people, and that allows me to be very good at finding weak points in things and show how they can be broken.

I’m not nearly as good at organization, or fixing things, but I’m not afraid to work with someone who is better at fixing, because together we can accomplish much more than we could alone.
I’m purposely not making this article simply about hacking, because it’s so much bigger than that. When you’re at work, are you REALLY being yourself? Or are you simply going through motions, just to make it through?

I played that game for too long. Everyone told me to focus, and pay attention… To what THEY thought was important, so I tried to be “good”, and I was so incredibly unhappy. I tried to be what friends, family, bosses, and “experts” said would bring happiness. I ignored the one person who knew what would make me happy, me.
Listen to the voice in your gut, everyone has their own strengths, build your friends, job, activities around what drives you, and you’ll succeed in finding peace. Don’t worry so much about what others are doing.

If you’re unhappy, or not being yourself, the only one to blame is yourself!

Comments are closed.